The Awakening

      249 ADA / 39 ADA*
       *for wallet holding Candide, The History of Tom Jones, a Foundling, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, and Leaves of Grass

      Sold Out - Available On:

      “The Awakening” is a novel written by American author Kate Chopin. It was first published in 1899 and is considered one of the early works of feminist literature. The novel explores themes of self-discovery, societal expectations, and the limitations imposed on women in the late 19th century.


      The story is set in the late 19th century in New Orleans and follows the protagonist, Edna Pontellier. Edna is a wife and mother who experiences a gradual awakening to her own desires and independence. Edna begins to question and rebel against the conventional roles expected of women in her social and domestic spheres. She rejects the traditional roles of wife and mother and seeks to define herself outside of these expectations.

      “The Awakening” was controversial at the time of its publication due to its frank treatment of female sexuality, infidelity, and the protagonist’s rejection of traditional gender roles. It is recognized as a classic of American literature and an important work in the feminist literary canon, and continues to be studied and discussed for its exploration of gender roles and individual self-discovery.

      Numbered eBooks: 314

      Number of Unique Covers: 101

      Number of 1:1 Covers: 45

      The Longing for Freedom

      17 Unique Designs
      x 8 Numbered eBooks
      = 136 NFT eBooks
      eBook Numbers 178 - 313
      (43.31% of Supply)

      The Grand Isle Vacation

      14 Unique Designs
      x 5 Numbered eBooks
      = 70 NFT eBooks
      eBook Numbers 108 - 177
      (22.29% of Supply)

      The Pigeon House

      13 Unique Designs
      x 3 Numbered eBooks
      = 39 NFT eBooks
      eBook Numbers 69 - 107
      (12.42% of Supply)

      The Pianist, Mademoiselle Reisz

      12 Unique Designs
      x 2 Numbered eBooks
      = 24 NFT eBooks
      eBook Numbers 45 - 68
      (7.64% of Supply)

      Edna Pontellier

      16 Unique Designs
      x 1 Numbered eBooks
      = 16 NFT eBooks
      eBook Numbers 29 - 44
      (5.10% of Supply)

      The Love Interest, Robert

      15 Unique Designs
      x 1 Numbered eBooks
      = 15 NFT eBooks
      eBook Numbers 14 - 28
      (4.78% of Supply)

      The Awakening

      14 Unique Designs
      x 1 Numbered eBooks
      = 14 NFT eBooks
      eBook Numbers 0 - 13
      (4.46% of Supply)


      Publisher :

      Series : Banned Book-A-Day

      First Publication Date : 1899

      Author : Kate Chopin

      Genres: Feminist Fiction, Fiction, Novel, Novella

      Language : English

      Word Count : 72,500

      Format : DEA (Decentralized Encrypted Asset)

      Read On : eReader dApp

      Cover Art : Includes 4K hi-resolution book cover

      Cardano Retail Price : 249 ADA

      Cardano Discount Price : 39 ADA, for wallet holding Candide, The History of Tom Jones, a Foundling, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, and Leaves of Grass

      Purchase Limit: 2

      Cardano Policy ID : 996c9b906a1e36c908af2a170ea20d6a8fc7e1492d4c850c263e69f5

      Author Info

      Kate Chopin

      Kate Chopin (1850–1904) was an American author known for her contributions to American literature, particularly for her exploration of the role of women in society and her depiction of the complexities of human emotions.
      She began writing fiction in the 1890s. Her most famous work is the novel "The Awakening," which was published in 1899. She also wrote numerous short stories that explored themes of gender roles, societal expectations, and the constraints placed on women.
      Kate Chopin's contr… Read More

      You might also like

      “The History of Tom Jones, a Foundling” is a novel written by the English author Henry Fielding. It was first published in 1749 and is considered one of the earliest examples of the English novel. The novel is known for its comedic and picaresque style, as well as its exploration of the social and moral issues of its time.
      Read More

      “Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass” is an autobiographical account written by Frederick Douglass. It was first published in 1845 and is considered one of the most influential pieces of literature to emerge from the abolitionist movement. The narrative provides a firsthand account of Douglass’s life as a slave and his journey to freedom.
      Read More

      “Leaves of Grass” is a collection of poems written by the American poet Walt Whitman. It was first published in 1855 and underwent multiple revisions and expansions throughout Whitman’s life, with the final edition being published in 1892. The collection is considered one of the most important works in American literature and is known for its bold exploration of themes such as democracy, individualism, and the interconnectedness of all things.
      Read More

      “The Scarlet Letter” is a historical fiction novel written by Nathaniel Hawthorne, first published in 1850. Set in the 17th-century Puritan Massachusetts Bay Colony, the story explores the consequences of sin, guilt, and redemption.
      The novel begins with the protagonist, Hester Prynne, being publicly shamed and forced to wear a scarlet letter “A” on her dress as a mark of her adultery. She refuses to reveal the identity of the father of her illegitimate child, Pearl. Despite her humiliat… Read More